160 down!

June 22, 2010

Well, first things first: thank you so much for your sweet and lovely comments on my skirt! Y’all are amazing! I felt so good when I read them, and I promise I will make the tutorial for you, since I received a few comments and e-mails about it.

I know I vowed to start documenting my progress on my projects, so I’m going to give you a look at my flying geese quilt top (or at least what I have so far). The tutorial I promised will not be posted until after I teach the block at the next NEMQG meeting. That way, I can see if there are any issues with my explanation or presentation.

So, I painstakingly squared up all 161 of my goose blocks (my count was off). Squaring up is the one thing I don’t like about quilting, I’ll admit…it really ruins it for me, and usually I have to break it up across several days or weeks, which is why this top is taking me so long.

The main fabric is a recycled cotton skirt from the 60s. You can see it in the photo as the fabric featured in five of the blocks.  Most of the rest of it came from scraps and some other recycled bits…although I did have to buy some new fabric as I neared my final count and began running out. The top is about 60×70 so far, and my plan (surprise, surprise) is to create a thin, pink border and then a large white border.The solid is Kona Bleached White.

This is, without question, my favorite quilt top I’ve made so far. I am absolutely in love with it.

So is the cat.

I have an important anniversary coming up, so I am going to be hosting a small giveaway this week…stay tuned!

4 Responses to “160 down!”

  1. Tasia Says:

    Pretty! I love the summery colours.
    What do you do with all the quilts you make? Just curious 🙂


  2. OMG!!!!!! SO GORGEOUS!!! You are seriously killing me with how many great things you’ve been making!!!!!!

    Also, hi cat! Whats the cats name? Did you know that I’m obsessed with cats? Ask yahaira, I’m kinda insane about them. I’m making a cat quilt. As we speak. Awkward right?

    PS: I died when I read your email…I grew up in Peabody!!!!

  3. yahaira Says:

    that cotton skirt goes perfectly with the modern meadow. love it! so this quilt is going to be for your cat right?!

  4. Shelly Says:

    Love those geese! In breath-taking anticipation of the tutorial……see you soon! xo


Leave a Reply

