Grandmother’s tablecloth

June 15, 2010

Hello, friends! As I said earlier, I had to put all of my projects away last week to make my nana a tablecloth for her 83rd birthday. She has been talking about this tablecloth she saw in a catalog probably 50 years ago for a good couple of years now, so I seized the opportunity to sew one up for her, even though I didn’t have a photograph for reference. She asked for 14″ yellow and white squares. Easy enough.

Two trips to Fabric Corner later (apparently NOT easy enough to buy the right amount of fabric the first time) and some quality time with my giant cutting mat (and season 2 of Prime Suspect), I had the top. I sewed up the bottom and painstakingly laid them out on the floor. Then I ironed and pinned them all out into a lovely 70″ square…only to realize, when I stood up and reflected on my handiwork, that I had basted the layers together like a quilt (ie, wrong sides together), not pinned them together like a tablecloth (right sides together). <sigh> Old habits die hard.

But I finished it and gave it to her on Saturday, and she seemed to like it…

…which is, of course, the only important thing!

Unfortunately, I’m terrible at recording the colors of Kona I buy, but I do know that the white is Bleached White, which is my personal favorite…I think it’s a truer, brighter white than the others, and it looks great with bright colors and pastels alike.

Happy sewing, whatever you’re making!

2 Responses to “Grandmother’s tablecloth”

  1. Tasia Says:

    Wow, what a beautiful view!! So nice of you to make this for your grandmother 🙂

  2. Meaghan Says:

    So simple and sweet! I love it!


Leave a Reply

