Another one bites the dust

May 15, 2010

That’s right: another failed clothing project. This just isn’t my month! This time, it was Vogue 6999, a boxy jacket. And by “boxy,” I mean “boatlike.” I cut out all 16 pieces of the main fabric (a very expensive wool boucle); cut my interfacing, underlining, and lining (an even more expensive silk charmeuse), and went to work. I tried on the shell. I looked like I had the torso of Frankenstein, but I plowed forward. “I just can’t waste this fabric,” I thought, as I set about removing a full 3″ of shoulder cap ease. At one point, I had to admit to myself that it wasn’t just an issue of fit. The jacket really looked awful on me, so I cut 1.5″ from the front panel of each side.

That was not one of my better ideas, as when I went to do the pockets (yes, I even went ahead with the pockets), they took up the entire chest area. Don’t ask me why I didn’t think of this beforehand. They looked horrible. STILL, I continued, far past the point when any reasonable person would have said to herself, “It’s only sixty or seventy dollars’ worth of materials. Just let it go.” I tried to sew in the sleeves. I know you’re cringing right now. Even after reducing 3″, there was about 2″ or 3″ of ease remaining, and the shape of the shoulder cap just would not fit into the armhole. At this point, I tried it on again, just so see if it was worth salvaging, and the answer was a resounding “NO.”

Do you ever go through periods like this? And if you do, at what point do you look at a garment that’s destined to fail and just call it quits?

In other news, I do have this dress waiting for its turn on the blog…but I finished it back in April, so it doesn’t do much for the self-esteem right now 🙂

8 Responses to “Another one bites the dust”

  1. Edith Says:

    Well, I don’t know if this will make you feel better, but most of my attempts at clothing have ended in failure. I just can’t do it, so I admire the fact that you do it at all. And yes, when I do try I usually persist all the way to the end before discovering that things are just not going to work out. Sometimes I even hang the thing in my closet after that, like it might get better with age.

  2. Cinquefoille Says:

    Oh, I so can relate! I’ve had that happen to me many times, and I just kept going until there was practically nothing left of the wanna-be garment. And even worse, I tend to keep these horrendous things, thinking maybe one day I can still use them for something. Now that’s just veeery stupid of me… But I love your dress for sure. 🙂


  3. OH NO!!! And after all that we went through to reassemble that pattern. How awful, I expected better of Vogue circa 1952 or whatever. I wish you’d done a toile – I feel partly responsible here! Who knew?

  4. Sara Says:

    Obviously, totally annoying. However, I find (from failed knitting projects–by which I mean ripping out an entire sweater) that once the sting wears off I can realize “I learned something” as hokey as that sounds–sometimes, anyway.

    Also, jackets/coats are supposed to be super difficult.

  5. CGCouture Says:

    Ugh! I hate it when that happens! I’m sorry you couldn’t salvage the coat–it looks so cute and innocent on the pattern envelope.

  6. Tasia Says:

    I give up pretty easily, it depends on why it’s not working out. Sometimes the whole concept was bad, in which case, I toss it and pretend it never happened! If it’s likely fixable but just frustrating me right now, I put it away for a while and work on something more fun 🙂
    But I usually stash it in the back of the closet. That way, I didn’t officially give up, but it’s out of sight and no longer taunting me. And I don’t feel too wasteful, because I didn’t throw it in the trash (yet).
    That coat looks like it would have been cute, too bad! At least your dress is gorgeous!!

  7. Ali Says:

    Monet, the pattern says size 14 in the upper right hand corner and you are more like a 0.4 – or maybe I’m reading something incorrectly?
    The dress is fabulous by the way!

  8. Katie P. Says:

    I didn’t give up on my hideous skirt when I bought the pattern too small. I didn’t give up when it became apparent I’d forgotten everything there was to know about sewing. And I didn’t give up when I completely trashed the pleats. Only when I melted a hole through the bum region with the iron did I decide to call it quits. So that’s that.


Leave a Reply

