When dreams become reality

April 14, 2010

I was cruising around on JCrew.com the other day and I saw this skirt in the final sale section:

Instant love. I went to add it to my shopping cart and noticed the price: $98. I vaguely remember expressing incredulity for a few seconds before beginning to mentally sew it with the Burdastyle Jenny pattern. Within a few days, of course, I was actually sewing it with the Jenny pattern.

Before I get to the FO shots, I’d like to take a moment to reflect on their styling of the skirt:

Moving on.

There’s not too much to be said here! After making the muslin last week, I had all the alterations to the master pattern and was content to go to work. The waist of the original was a bit large, so I cut it in in half, but I think that was the only pattern change. It came together very quickly this time.

While it’s obviously not exactly the same, it retains the things I liked about the original: a high-waisted, straight silhouette; a small waistband; and a floaty, watercolor-y floral pattern.

The only changes I made cannot really be called changes–they’re just personal construction preferences: a hand-sewn zipper (which took a while, since it’s 12″ long), muslin interfacing, and the like. The fabric is from Winmil, and I bought quite a bit of it, so I hope I still have enough to make a sleeveless dress. Aalthough I hate to harp on how much things cost, since I do spend quite a lot on fabric, I am proud to say that the grand total of this skirt was about $8.

As always, I have to tell you that I made this while watching a few episodes of Season 1 of Murder, She Wrote.

Happy sewing!

4 Responses to “When dreams become reality”


  1. I can’t decide which part of this post I like better, the gorgeous skirt or the fact that you were watching murder, she wrote! haha! both I adore!

  2. Tasia Says:

    Gorgeous skirt! It turned out beautifully, and isn’t it amazing when you can sew something you covet, instead of buying it. Not only is it WAY cheaper, but no one else will have the same one! No more awkward moments where you show up in the same outfit as someone else…

    • Monet Says:

      Haha, I KNOW. I hate to harp on how much it costs to make things, but it does really put it in perspective when you try to duplicate something…$98 vs. $8 makes it pretty obvious :).

  3. yahaira Says:

    that fabric is perfect and so much better than the jcrew one. and the skirt looks so great on you. I maybe have to break down and buy that pattern!!


Leave a Reply

