Signs of spring!

April 12, 2010

I have been so inspired by some of the beautiful tops in Spring Top Week, I really wanted to have something to enter. I know I could never win (have you looked at the tops!?!), but I thought I could challenge myself to contribute something. Here is what I came up with:

I used the main pieces of Butterick 5177, which is actually a dress pattern. I just used the top section of the three basic pattern pieces (front and backs) and modified the rest. I’m very happy with it.

I know I look sad, but I had just woken up and the light was good, so I had to run outside with my camera as quickly as possible!  The top came together very easily, and the part of the directions that I followed was clear. Other mods: no lining (necessary for a dress, not for a shirt), so I just catchstitched the armholes. Even as I was sewing it, I didn’t think it would get much wear, but now I’m rethinking that 🙂  It’s nice and flowy and work-appropriate…and fast! It came together completely during the two-part Masterpiece Theater version of Jane Eyre.

I’m relieved that Butterick patterns seem to fit me…previous experiments with Simplicity have failed, although I am getting much better at making alterations to the shoulder/ armscye/ bust area and am about to set to work on a vintage Simplicity blouse.

I made it extra long in the front because I like my tops to tuck in nicely and it’s a cute, blousey look. I had planned to tell you that this passed the “Would you wear it?” test, but not the “Would you buy it?” test, but that is untrue.  I’m actually wearing it today and have already been told by a colleague that she couldn’t stop looking at me because I looked so radiant in my top! Yay! How wonderful that feels.

I didn’t take a picture of the back, although you can tell that the bow is fairly large. Here is a detail shot of the front casing:

In the pattern, the casing is flat and lies underneath of the main body piece, but I chose to ruffle it up and put it on display. The fabric is a poly chiffon from Winmil. Y’all know I don’t like to use synthetic fabrics, but I loved how spring-y this one was–and it was unbeatable at $5 a yard, and I already had thread that matched, etc. etc. Serendipity.

Fabric close-up

There’s not much else to say about it! Sorry for the relatively boring post, but it was such a quick sew!

2 Responses to “Signs of spring!”


  1. this is super cute!!!!

  2. Tasia Says:

    Pretty! Sometimes the easiest and fastest projects turn out the best. Love the loose, breezy fit and the sweet floral pattern!


Leave a Reply

