Choosing fabric…

April 4, 2010

…is hard to do, especially when you’re doing it for a quilt-a-long! My blog friend Yahaira and I are embarking on a QAL (details to come), and we were supposed to choose fabric this weekend. I had wanted to do a green quilt, but when I got home from the quilt shop last night, I had to admit to myself that it just wasn’t going to happen.

I pulled out all my fabric (even though I just organized it on Thursday) and tried every combination I could think of. Pink, orange, and brown? Better than it sounds, but not that great. Navy blue, light blue, black, and brown? I’m bored.I tried unusual combinations and typical ones, and I just couldn’t get excited.

I fell asleep at 8:30 PM and still hadn’t come up with a solution. When I woke up, I was beginning to be frantic about it, and then I remembered this vintage cotton skirt that I bought last month at Garment District for tearing up into quilt fabric:

Lots of nice, bright colors…easy to match (this pattern calls for 17 fabrics, and while I won’t do that many, I still need a lot)…I began pulling out my fabrics again and came up with this:

I need a few more solids and prints that aren’t circular, but I’m feeling good about the combination!

One Response to “Choosing fabric…”

  1. yahaira Says:

    if it makes you feel better, I still don’t know what I’m using!


Leave a Reply

