Too sick to sew…

March 30, 2010

For the last three days, I’ve been lying in my bed, half-comatose, with a 101+ fever and several other symptoms that, for your sake and mine, I will not share here. I’ve been able to accomplish very little except watch a lot of Profiler and West Wing. Two days off of work, unable to sew! A tragedy of epic proportions. For the last hour or so, I’ve had a modicum of energy and would like to take advantage of it by sharing a recent FO with you! Behold Nana’s Quilt:

Remember that quilt top from back in February? I had big plans to do a pieced back, but I couldn’t get motivated. Making the top wasn’t one of my more pleasant quilting experiences, and I just wanted to be done with it. So I resorted to the emergency quilt-finishing plan for the second time in a month: I bought a sheet.

I highly recommend that treatment for those quilts you just don’t have the energy or motivation to back…it’s inexpensive (or at least less expensive than buying fabric, especially with a coupon!) and it forces you just to get it done. I’ve heard that sheets are tough on your machine, but I have yet to experience that.

I brought this with me to my nana’s for the weekend to finish hand-sewing my binding, which I knew was a mistake before I left my house. She loves yellow, and as I was walking out the door, I thought this would be a great gift for Mother’s Day or her birthday. But I had nothing else to work on, and I’m one of those people who absolutely has to have something to do with her hands all the time, so the quilt came with me.

She loved it so much, I had to leave it for her before I came home! I hope she is enjoying it. She is a wonderful grandmother and friend and truly deserves it.

I bound it with strips of all of the different fabrics, which I thought would give it more of a punch, but really doesn’t make much of a difference in the finished quilt. Oh, well. I know it’s there 🙂 It’s a bit more classic than I would ordinarily make, but I am so happy with how it turned out!

I hope to have another project to show you soon…in the meantime, I’m off to devote my short attention span to “Lost.”

One Response to “Too sick to sew…”

  1. yahaira Says:

    I swear we are way too much alike! I’ve been sick since Sunday and haven’t sewn a stitch since then.

    I’m so glad you’re nana loved it, it’s an awesome quilt!


Leave a Reply

