More modifying tradition…

March 27, 2010

Mosaic

Circle of Geese (not Modify Tradition)

I added these blocks to my Modify Tradition sampler pile this week. I’m up to nine blocks, which is the amount I wanted for a small quilt. The Circle of Geese block seemed like a good idea at the time, but it took me hours to complete. The results are nice, but not nice enough to justify how little I enjoyed the process of making it. I also think the seams are painfully obvious. The middle looks like a jumble to me…I’ve always thought that about the others I’ve seen, so I don’t know why I thought mine would be different! I will probably never make this block again.

I know I never show WIP shots, but I am so excited about this new project! I fussy-cut almost 400 pieces for the pieced part of the quilt (in case you’re wondering, it took about six hours) and sewed 25% of them together:

Off to spend the day stippling and sewing binding on an old top…happy quilting!

4 Responses to “More modifying tradition…”

  1. Ali Says:

    I think the picture of your quilt on the old weathered wood would make a great art quilt!L.M.

  2. Em Says:

    HI, Monet! So tickled you left a comment on my blog so that I could find you. Your circular flying geese are breathtaking. I am posting another OAK tree wonky giveaway this week so hope you will return again for another try. Do you mind me asking how you found my blog! Thank you for spending time commenting and I look forward to perusing your blog. Em


  3. I super love these two blocks!!! They look so so so fantastic! I found you via bitterpurl & I’m obsessed with your blog now!

  4. yahaira Says:

    I can’t wait to see the sampler! but yeah, sometimes paper piecing is more of a pita that it’s worth.

    now what are you up to with the modern meadow and hope valley?


Leave a Reply

