Potholder pride

March 17, 2010

Fellow NEMQG member Amy started a second round of the potholder pass last month, and I happily joined. I made one string block (paper-pieced) and one wonky log cabin block, both measuring about 8″ square, for my partner Karen:

Karen said she wanted Heather Ross fabrics, but I didn’t have any, so I substituted. I thought this Kokka print shared the same whimsical qualities, and I had enough in my stash to do both bindings and still have fabric left over.

The string block is stippled using a pearl gray thread, and the log cabin block is lightly quilted with the same.

I made pockets on the backs using my leftover “Retro Garden” fabric.

I even sacrificed some of my Honeycomb, which is, without question, my #1 favorite fabric of all time.

I am so happy with how these turned out, but I was terribly nervous along the way! I am relatively free-wheeling when it comes to my own projects and forgiving of myself when I make mistakes…but creating things for other people adds a new level of obsessive perfectionism.

As always, there are stray threads invading my photos…

I really hope she likes them. Thanks, Amy, for this fun and rewarding swap!

4 Responses to “Potholder pride”

  1. pippapatchwork Says:

    Those are adorable! And I know exactly what you mean–I let myself get away with all kinds of imperfections, but when I’m making something for someone else, I morph into a total perfectionist!

  2. yahaira Says:

    I love the colors you chose! they look great.
    and yeah, making stuff for other people? eep! I stress myself out over it. something for myself? ehh, the seams don’t line up. oh well. 🙂


  3. what a great gift exchange idea. i’ve been making coasters, but will have to make potholders now too!

    linked to you in a kokka facebook group i started. hope you join. http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/group.php?gid=246096571605&ref=mf

  4. Amy Says:

    Monet, why don’t you share your potholders with the Flickr group? Everyone would love to see them. http://www.flickr.com/groups/1328412@N23/
    I am accepting names for Round 3 now as well. Then we will be taking a break and swapping pincushions over the summer!
    I love the color tones in your potholders. I’m glad that you joined and had fun!


Leave a Reply

