Beautiful bloomers (and failblouse)

March 6, 2010

Pattern: Madeleine Bloomers from Colette Patterns (it’s free! go get it!)

Fabric: Yellow silk twill purchased from Denver Fabrics

Notions: 1/4″ navy blue ribbon, some comically old buttons I picked up at Winmil for .50

Time to complete: 4 or 5 hours(ish) (it took me longer than the pattern said it would because a. I’m slow; b. I’m extremely slow when working with silk c. I spent a lot of time overcasting my seams because they began raveling the moment I started looking at them)

Modifications: only one band of elastic at the waistband (pattern calls for two) and the button/ bow combo on the waistband. It looked naked to me without anything there.

Total cost to complete: Probably about $10

Will I wear it? YES.

Made while watching: Season 1 of Glee

This is a fantastic pattern (and free! Seriously, go get it). Sarai is a brilliant pattern-writer, and sewing it was blissful. The only thing I struggled with was threading the elastic and ribbons through the waist and leg bands. I think they were getting caught in the seam allowances.

This project is even inspiring me to actually post my photos to Flickr, which I never do.

In other news, I tried to make a silk blouse from Sew U with the rest of the fabric, and it was ill-fated from the start. It never passed the “Would I buy it?” test, but I thought it would be a good learning experiment. And it was…just not a pretty one:

I had high hopes that I would change my mind during the process, though…but I began to dislike it more and more, especially after my seams came out so strangely. Can anyone tell me why a seam that looks like this when laying flat on a table:

slight puckering at the top, but mostly flat

looks like this when hanging:

flat on top, puckering on the bottom

flat on top, puckering on the bottom

?? This was very frustrating, and the final kick in the pants I needed to abandon this project…after spending most of Saturday on it, sadly.

I have a few more FOs to show you and am finished stippling the wonky star top…it does look much better now that it’s washed and quilted. Thanks for cheering me on!

One Response to “Beautiful bloomers (and failblouse)”

  1. pippapatchwork Says:

    Oh my gosh, those are so adorable!


Leave a Reply

