Coin quilt complete!

January 26, 2010

There’s nobody I can convince to hold it up for me, so I had to hang it over the monkey bars on the playground in the back of my apartment complex…but you get the idea:

I really do like this quilt, though I had a bi%$h of a time quilting and binding it. I used the instructions from “Last-Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts” and a variety of Windham reproduction fabrics from The Quilter’s Loft in Mooresville, NC.  The book says it’s an eight- to twelve-hour project, but that remains to be seen. It did take a while, but that was perhaps the result of our efforts to tea-dye the backing fabric when it looked completely different at home than in the store. It worked pretty well, I think (thanks, Mom)!

I love the fabrics and colors, and I think it turned out quite nicely, for my very first quilt! As I said, I had some issues with the quilting and binding…somehow, the quilt ended up about 3/4″ longer on one side than the other (don’t ask, because I don’t know), so my plans for a lovely, geometric quilting pattern went out the window in favor of an error-friendly pattern…but I’m happy with it.

The binding, however, was another story!

Hello! I am a bumpy binding.

I tried a completely machine-attached binding, and I did not do a good job. I ripped it out in several places and then hand-sewed where it looked the worst, but now it looks very…homespun, you could say. Unfortunately, it’s worse on the front than the back.

That, however, did not prevent me from hanging it over the edge of my bed and admiring it every day. It IS a great pattern and [sorta] goes with my room…and before I forget, dimensions are about 60 X 65…a good size.

Happy quilting!

One Response to “Coin quilt complete!”

  1. Sara Says:

    Love it! I have been admiring the coin quilt in that book for some time…I’m currently contemplating a project from that book, but will have to make some alterations…so I just keep contemplating 😉


Leave a Reply

