Tablerunner extraordinaire

January 19, 2010

I made this tablerunner yesterday, using Rachel’s disappearing 9-patch tutorial, and it turned out quite well (I think):

I used four different fabrics, instead of the formulaic nine: two Kaffe Fasset prints, one K.F. shot cotton (it’s a sort of metallic periwinkle), and one Kona solid.

I machine-quilted it using my longest and widest zigzag stitch. It’s about 18″ across because I used 6″ blocks instead of the usual 5″ (measuring and cutting are my favorite part of quilting, so I don’t like using pre-cut fabric packs) and 48″ long.  I quilted it in a grid–every 4″ vertically and every 6″ horizontally. I did get two small puckers because I used that method, but they are buried in the busy print and hardly noticeable. I reinforced the quilting by hand…while watching LOST, of course.

I did a self-binding (binding with the backing fabric), and I don’t ever want to bind using another method…it was awesome and it looked so clean and nice. I was going to use a brighter shade, but I liked the muslin so much I chose to bind with it. And I’m glad I did.

I LOVE IT. It’s the only thing I’ve ever made for a gift that I decided to keep. And so quick, too! Ya’ll should make one ASAP.

2 Responses to “Tablerunner extraordinaire”

  1. Ali Says:

    I continue to be amazed at your ability to immerse yourself in a craft and honor it by becoming a most dedicated student. Please don’t ever give your coin quilt to anyone as it will always serve as both an inspirational piece and one which will serve to show how far you’ve come. I love your new table runner and think the color and fabric selections are awesome! Where did you find that fabulous Kaffe Fasset print ?

  2. Katy Says:

    It’s turned out better than quite well – it’s beautiful!!!


Leave a Reply

