Res completa: Stripe Posy Patch top

January 18, 2010

I finished the top of the Stripe Posy Patch yesterday, and I’m very happy with how it turned out:

Unfortunately, though I like the end result, it wasn’t very enjoyable to make, for several reasons.

First, the piecing was very complicated and I had to rip out so. many. seams!! It was much more difficult to get the “arrows” (I’m not sure if that’s what they’re called, but that’s what they look like to me!) to match up perfectly than I expected.  Though I did accomplish it in all but one place–where they couldn’t meet, I think because of a cutting error–it was only by trial-and-error that I got it exactly right.

Second, 75% of the process involved working with the neutral linens, which was boring…and isn’t why I enjoy quilting! Someone from the New England Modern Quilt Guild (come join our Ning site!) said that her quilt shop owner said to her, “Life is too short to look at brown.” Although I do think brown has its uses, it takes some of the joy out of quilting when it comprises that much of the process.

I think I need to take a break from it before I back and bind it. I made an awesome tablerunner yesterday and am about to finish up the binding, so I hope to have photos of that tomorrow. In the meantime, I’m catching up on (or trying to catch up on) all five seasons of LOST prior to the premiere on the 2nd…

In other news, one of the reasons I love Liberty fabric is how nice it looks, even from the back:

One Response to “Res completa: Stripe Posy Patch top”


  1. […] I left, I finished the binding on the Stripe Posy Patch quilt and gave it to my mother for her birthday (sadly, she checks my blog more often than I thought, and […]


Leave a Reply

