Stripe posy patch block

January 16, 2010

I’ve been working on a new quilt this week:

That’s one 21(ish)” block from the Stripe Posy Patch quilt from Mary Mashuta’s Cotton Candy Quilts. It is a great pattern, but very cutting- and piecing-intensive.

I originally planned to make the entire quilt, which measures about 64″ square, but I experienced a major setback when, distracted by hunger and my audiobook, I made a significant cutting error and ended up with far fewer blocks of one of the fabrics than I wanted. So a 42ish” square it will be!

The dark teal and white block (also the center square) is a Liberty print. The diamonds come from Anna Maria Horner’s Folksy Flannels collection, and the other two come from Art Gallery’s Revive collection…I’m also using the Revive for the Pinwheel Sampler QAL. They aren’t my favorite (the hazards of buying online), but I will dupe myself into thinking I like them and hopefully the quilt will turn out alright. It’s only a block a week anyway, so I think I’ll be fine.

Anyway, the piecing was very time-consuming, as I said, but I am proud of myself for getting it perfectly…though I’ll admit to ripping out several seams along the way! AND I’m working on another exciting project using this fat quarter pack from Spool:

I hope to have the completed quilt top to show you soon…until then, happy quilting!

Leave a Reply

