Coin quilt pillow

January 12, 2010

I finished my coin quilt (full FO shots to come…) and had a lot of extra fabric strips left over…a LOT. And I had messed up the pattern royally and rendered about 25% of the strips completely unusable, so I don’t know how it happened. But it did. I also had an old, down pillow insert from a duvet set my mom made me in 2004 that didn’t match anything currently in my possession and I pulled off the pillowcase and set to work designing a new cover for it out of my quilt scraps.

Here is the sketch:

And here is the pillow:

Et viola!

I just cut the strips to 4″, used 3″ strips from the cotton background fabric from the original quilt, and sewed  them together across the top/ bottom and down one side.  The pillow insert was fluffy and inflexible, so I only sewed about 2″ down each end and then used velcro on the rest:

I stuffed the pillow in, sealed it up, and put it on my sewing chair.

It took an hour, give or take…coin quilters, go out and make one!

In other news, I finished all my siggy blocks last night. I’ll take pictures when the light is better. I love them and am so excited about the swap!

Leave a Reply

