Diary of a coin quilt, page 1

January 7, 2010

I have wanted to learn to quilt for so long, but 2009 was crazy and I didn’t have a sewing machine that worked. My 1948 Singer gave out on me in 2008 sometime, and I didn’t have the money for a new one. I asked my mother for a sewing machine for Christmas this year and immediately began amassing books on quilts, vowing to make a quilt immediately upon its receipt.

December 25, 2009 saw me make an Amy Butler bag and some birdie pincushions from Last Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts (okay, so I didn’t succeed in making it immediately). December 26 saw me at The Quilting Loft in Moorseville, North Carolina somewhat hysterically buying fabric for a stacked coin quilt.

On Dec 27, this

became this

which became this by the 30th:

and then this:

A quilt top in four days (three, if you don’t count the entire day I spent returning to Boston from NC, which I don’t): solid turnaround!

I finished all but 12″ of the binding last night because I ran out of thread (isn’t that always the way?), but I’ve learned so much. FO shots to come as soon as I can find a good place for a photograph…and a full run-down of all of the mistakes I made along the way. There were so many…

One Response to “Diary of a coin quilt, page 1”

  1. Alexis Says:

    I’m so impressed! But will we ever see you knit again? 😉


Leave a Reply

