Collage to quilt: a journey (part one).

January 6, 2010

I’ve never had much luck buying fabric, yarn or anything craft-related online. It always ends up being just slightly (or hugely) wrong. The problem is that I can’t get to a fabric store easily. I’m finishing a quilt tonight (barring any unforeseen issues) and need a new project ASAP. With no quilt stores within easy reach and no time to spare, I considered buying online.  I looked at patterns, looked at fabrics, thought about what to do next, and despaired.

As I was perusing my photos on my newly-downloaded Picasa, I found a tiny button: COLLAGE. It seemed like the perfect solution to the omnipresent fabric-combining issue.

I have a small obsession with Liberty fabrics and wanted to make a quilt out of them. So I downloaded several photos of fabrics I liked and fabrics I already own and created this draft:

First draft: Liberty fabrics and neutrals

Not good. I liked the fabrics individually, and the colors seemed to match, but it just didn’t work. I tried again:

Second draft: Liberty, some Anna Maria Horner, and neutrals

VERY bad! The wavy purple and white print dominates the entire thing. It looks terrible, even though the colors are nice together individually.

I tried again. Here is the third collage:

Third draft: beautiful!

Needless to say, I bought the fabrics above and am proud of myself for combining them from several online sources and my own stash.

Finally, as I was about to purchase the other fabrics, I created this one in a fit of inspiration:

The red fabric is a little arresting, but I think it will be fine in the finished quilt. I wanted to do Denyse Schmidt’s “Hop, Skip, and a Jump!” quilt with the fabrics in the fourth collage (a lovely and inspiring version can be found here), but I think it might be a bit too similar in construction to the coin quilt I just made. I’m also considering her flying geese variation, made up beautifully by Alissa here.

Until then, I’m anxiously waiting for my fabric by the mailbox!

2 Responses to “Collage to quilt: a journey (part one).”

  1. catherine Says:

    Wow! I really love the 3rd collage and can’t wait to see the quilt you make out of it! I also can’t wait to see the one you almost finished! I am so jealous… I miss my sewing machine…

  2. Katie P. Says:

    Love this collage feature. Every fabric I’ve ever purchased online has turned out to be a horribly shitty idea. Apologies if I shouldn’t say shitty.

    xoxo


Leave a Reply

