Shawl of Destiny (ancient Chinese secret)

April 4, 2009

I have no idea how I finished this in a week, but I did, and I love it more than anything I have ever made.

p1010929Pattern: Ishbel by Ysolda Teague

Yarn: Madelinetosh Sock, Mourning Dove, 1 skein

Needles: KnitPicks Options, US 8

The yarn was beautiful and perfect and the pattern was ridiculously easy to follow.  After working only one row of the lace pattern, it is virtually impossible to make a mistake (and if anyone could do it, I could…I’m usually bent over laughing at Arrested D. while knitting).

p1010932I have historically avoided using variegated yarn, but I have recently embraced them and have yet to be truly disappointed.  This is such a perfect shade–it varies between shades of light blue and cream.  My skein didn’t have the gray that seems to be the trademark of this colorway…but all the better!

p1010935I look terrible in gray anyway.

This flew off the needles as if it had a life of its own.  I have worn it frequently, but the only person who has complimented me is my dear friend D, who knows how much effort I expend on my knitting.  Nary an old woman scouted me out on the train to discuss this project.

p1010936Thank you, Ysolda.  I love a flawless and clearly written pattern.  There is not really much else to say…this only took one skein of MadTosh (though I seemed to use more than 330 yards, strangely enough), which makes it a somewhat economical choice (depending, of course, on your personal definition of economical…mine has been changing).  I made no modifications, although I think it is rare to make mods to a triangular shawl.

p1010933You should knit this, especially if you’ve never knit a shawl before…it is simple enough for a beginner and the results are spectacular.

p1010942Next up…another triangular shawl (they are the best projects) and a baby sweater…

3 Responses to “Shawl of Destiny (ancient Chinese secret)”

  1. daniele Says:

    aaw, thanks for the shout out! i love this shawl– and it is even more beautiful in person. i am sure an old lady on the train will comment soon. PS, i am craving the athans blend today!

  2. Sonia Says:

    This turned out so lovely!
    I’m knitting one in MadTosh as well, and I agree that it is the perfect yarn and the perfect pattern!


  3. […] booties 3. Treeline Stripe cardigan 4. Thorpe 5. Half-Ana Sundara socks 6. Formerly Useless cowl 7. Shawl of Destiny 8. Dulaan hat and mittens 9. Sundara lace socks 10. Shetland Triangle, v.2 11. Destroyed sweater […]


Leave a Reply

