Sundara socks on a sick day.

March 10, 2009

Well, I finished my first pair of socks.

curved foot detailI love them.

Materials:

Needles: Addi Turbo Lace, US 1

Yarn: Sundara Sock in Brambleberry (Seasons Autumn Feb 09 shipment)

Pattern: Anastasia Socks by Pepperknit

They took me only one week, and it was a busy week…but I couldn’t get enough.

both feet detailAt one point in my life (up until two weeks ago), I disparaged sock knitting for the usual reasons. But I have been converted, and as soon as I finished these socks, I rushed out to get Nancy Bush’s Knitting Vintage Socks and Folk Socks.

Left foot

Lo and behold, Nancy Bush mentioned my doctor in the acknowledgments in her book: they used to work together. I got to be the one to tell her that yesterday. She had no idea. How is that possible? Anyway, Nancy Bush is a genius and I cast on for one of her socks in my Sundara Fingering Silky Merino yesterday. I did manage to knit a few rows in spite of being very ill.

right foot detail(Excuse the debris in the above photo)

I only knit about half the pattern on these, with heavy mods. I get very cold in the winter, and I have a hard time finding socks that fit exactly to my specifications. I want socks that are big enough to fit over thick tights (without suctioning to my feet, which is the most disgusting sensation) but not so big that I can’t fit them in my boots…and I want them snug around my ankles. I knit at a slightly heavier gauge using Magic Loop and Judy’s Magic Cast-On (I can’t really imagine a better way to knit the toe of a sock, top of a mitten, etc…). I worked the pattern only on the instep and then decreased down to 54 stitches for the leg.

two socks and a skirtI am wearing them (with tights) right now…perfect for a sick day.


4 Responses to “Sundara socks on a sick day.”

  1. daniele Says:

    love these! nice color– very you.

  2. littlemisscrochet Says:

    Beautiful Yarn and that is a very pretty pattern!!


  3. […] K’s baby jacket 2. K’s baby booties 3. Treeline Stripe cardigan 4. Thorpe 5. Half-Ana Sundara socks 6. Formerly Useless cowl 7. Shawl of Destiny 8. Dulaan hat and mittens 9. Sundara lace socks 10. […]


Leave a Reply

