…and then there was spinning.

March 2, 2009

I recently discovered the joys of handspinning, thanks to the famous Lucy at Mind’s Eye.  Here are the results of my first attempt:

spun up...

Spinning is, in a word, amazing.  I think it is more relaxing than knitting (particularly when combined with a season or two of Arrested D) and rewarding in a medieval kind of way…it reminds me of Rumpelstiltskin, which, all things considered, is a pretty terrifying story.

Anyway, I bought an Ashford bottom-whorl drop spindle and a 4 oz. bundle of grey-blue Blue-Faced Leicester from Lucy.  She gave me a 5-minute lesson on the joys of handspinning while a newly-knitting Irish woman (yeah, I thought all Irish babies were given knitting needles as soon as they came out of the womb, too–apparently not) hovered over us offering history lessons about spinning technology (which were incorrect, it turns out).

Ashford spindle and bundle of fiber

I am still getting some thick and thin spots, but I improved greatly when I realized that it is better to STAND when spinning.  I was initially averse to the idea of standing (seeing it as the opposite of relaxing, which is one of my daily goals), but it turns out that spinning is much easier when standing.  Who knew?  Everyone else, I later learned.

first day of spinning

Next up…plying.

2 Responses to “…and then there was spinning.”

  1. daniele Says:

    this is so cool! you should go work at plymouth plantation. 😉


  2. […] 1. K’s baby jacket 2. K’s baby booties 3. Treeline Stripe cardigan 4. Thorpe 5. Half-Ana Sundara socks 6. Formerly Useless cowl 7. Shawl of Destiny 8. Dulaan hat and mittens 9. Sundara lace socks 10. Shetland Triangle, v.2 11. Destroyed sweater 12. Flower square experiment 13. Granny square pillow 14. Baby washcloths 15. Blue lagoon socks 16. Stripey socks 17. Baby Thorpe 18. Baby cowl 19. Fuzzy lamb/ bunny 20. Spinning experiment […]


Leave a Reply

