I do actually finish projects.

August 26, 2010

I need to tell you this as much as I need to tell myself. I am working on twin quilts for one of my good friends right now, and she informed me recently that twins can come pretty much any day starting about a month before their actual due date, which is October 3. You can imagine my enthusiasm given that I have only one top completed and I am moving next week. Sewing is S-L-O-W.

In other news, I am going to share a doll quilt that I made for the NEMQG doll quilt swap recently. My doll quilt generated the least enthusiasm in the group (just being honest), but I am still happy with it:

I did one double wedding ring block. It took me an entire week.

To be honest, I really loved it and was so proud of it. The DWR block is monstrously difficult and does require hand-piecing, which I did.  I took it to my grandmother’s house that weekend to baste it. My aunt, who has advanced lung cancer, was staying with my grandmother at the time. She was also a quilter in her youth, and I was lamenting the difficulty of this project one evening. She hobbled over to me with her walker, stood right next to it, and said in an extremely raspy voice tinged with a hard-core Boston accent: “Monet, that’s a quilt ya make when ya retiahed. That’s a quilt ya make when ya got absolutely nothin’ else to do,” and hobbled away.

So, I won’t be making another one for a while.

Rhea was my recipient, and she did seem to like it despite a few VERY OBVIOUS (and not just to me) imperfections. I was glad to have her as a partner, even though I was a bit nervous because she is such a good quilter and has a real eye for fabric and design!

Here are some of the other doll quilts (see the full lineup here):

Made by Laurie

Made by Katie

Made by Meaghan (incidentally, also the name of her blog [and mine])

Happy sewing, y’all…

8 Responses to “I do actually finish projects.”

  1. Britt Says:

    I loved yours! Honestly I loved all of them, next time I will try to show my enthusiasm a bit more. You did an amazing job!

  2. Laurie Says:

    Hey Monet- Don’t be hard on yourself about the doll quilt- it was amazing and obviously took A LOT of work. You learned something new as well – which is awesome.

    And also- don’t feel like you have to have those twin blankets done in time for the birth. Your friend will love them whenever she receives them!


  3. Monet…I don’t think you should be hard on yourself at all, you made a really really hard block and it looks GREAT!

  4. yahaira Says:

    I think I love your aunt (and I’m picturing her like julianne moore on 30 rock)

    I think that quilt is awesome and it shows that you care about actual construction and not just, you know, charm quilts ; ) It came out great!

  5. Rhea Says:

    Hey Lady M!!!

    I LOVE, love, LOVE my doll quilt.

    I was laughing reading your Aunt’s raspy Boston voice.

    Good times.

    I have the DQ in question hanging up in my sewing room: it makes me smile every time I look at it.

    Also I can truly say that I PREFER things that are not (quote/unqoute)”perfect.”

    They are always much more pleasing to the eye.

    I will have to send you a picture sometime…

    Thanks for posting other pix of the DQS: I have been anxiously waiting to see them for some time now.

    I can’t believe the talent in that group, can you???

    Very creative group of ladies.

    Thanks again for the gorgeous Doll Quilt… I love it lots.

    XO,

    Rhea

  6. Joanna Says:

    Monet, I LOVE that quilt and would proudly hang it on my wall! I’m not just saying that either – I honestly think it’s awesome and if I was there I would have oohed and aaahed over it:) The fabrics you used are pretty yet modern all at the same time. The other quilts look great too – Looks like it was a great swap!

  7. Sara Says:

    Love the title of this post! What an interesting shape your quilt is–is it the curving that makes it hard? Looking forward to the day when I can get back to sewing more myself–going back to work in a month so it’s not imminent, whenever it is. Good luck with your move–packing/unpacking is no fun, but maybe you’ll find some long lost fabric? ;-)

  8. Ali Says:

    Monet,you LITERALLY thought “outside the box” and created a very unique oval quilt. To me that is the very essence of the “modern” touch on a timeless classic. I love the colors as well- I think my baby girl would have loved it way back when!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

